EURO-CIU is a non-governmental and non-profit association, which was founded in Luxembourg in 1995, consists of 31 member associations from 23 European countries representing almost 150.000 cochlear implant users across Europe.

A cochlear implant is a surgically implanted device that provides access to sound for severely/profoundly deaf adults and children by stimulating the auditory nerve.


New EDF Board and Executive - May 2017

Written by Webmaster EUROCIU on .

This weekend, EDF members from all over Europe have gathered together in Madrid, Spain, for EDF’s Annual General Assembly (AGA). On the first day of the meeting, the elections of EDF Board of Directors took place. Here are the names of the EDF Board members:

  • Yannis Vardakastanis – President (National Confederation of Disabled People Greece)
  • Marcel Bobeldijk (European Federation of Hard of Hearing (EFHOH))
  • Vera Bonvalot (Brain Injured & Families - European Confederation (BIF-EC))
  • Rodolfo Cattani (European Blind Union)
  • John Patrick Clarke (European Down Syndrome Association (EDSA))
  • Evelyne Friedel (Autism Europe)
  • Giampero Griffo (Disabled People’s International-Europe (DPI-Europe))
  • Pierre Gyselinck (Action Européenne des Handicapés (AEH))
  • Nadia Hadad (European Network on Independent Living (ENIL))
  • Humberto Insolera (European Union of the Deaf (EUD))
  • Maureen Piggot (Inclusion Europe)
  • Jolijn Santegoeds (European Network of (ex-) Users and Survivors of Psychiatry (ENUSP))
  • Gunta Anca (Latvian Umbrella Body for Disability Organisations (SUSTENTO))
  • Ellen Jacqueline Calmon (The Organisation of Disabled in Iceland (ÖBI))
  • John Dolan (Disability Federation Ireland (DFI))
  • Erszébet Földesi (Hungarian National Council of Federations of People with Disabilities (FESZT))
  • Dovilé Juotdkaité (Lithuanian National Forum of the Disabled (LNF))
  • Goran Kustura (Slovenian National Disability Council (NSIOS))
  • Klaus Lachwitz (German Disability Council (DBR))
  • Pirkko Mahlamäki (Finnish Disability Forum (FDF))
  • Branislav Mamojka (Slovak Disability Council (NROZP))
  • Gisèle Marlière (Belgian Disability Forum (BDF))
  • Marica Miric (Croatian Union of Associations of Persons with Disabilties (SOIH))
  • Thorkild Olesen (Disabled Peoples Organisation Denmark (DH))
  • Ana Peláez (Spanish Committee of Representatives of Persons with Disabilities (CERMI))
  • Albert Prévos (French Council of Disabled People for European Affairs (CFHE))
  • Donata Vivanti (Italian Disability Forum (FID))
  • Christina Wurzinger (Austrian National Council of Disabled Persons (ÖAR))
  • Gabor Petri (Mental Health Europe)
  • Athena Frangouli (Social Firms Europe)
  • Cato Lie (International Federation for Spina Bifida and Hydrocephalus (IF))

On Sunday 14th, the new Board elected the Executive Committee.
The newly elected Executive Committee of EDF consists of:

  • Yannis Vardakastanis – President. National Confederation of Disabled People Greece
  • Ana Peláez – Vice President. Spanish Committee of Representatives of Persons with Disabilities (CERMI)
  • John Patrick Clarke - Vice-President. 
  • European Down Syndrome Association (EDSA)
  • Gunta Anca – Secretary. Latvian Umbrella Body for Disability Organisations (SUSTENTO)
  • Maureen Piggot – Treasurer. Inclusion Europe
  • Rodolfo Cattani. European Blind Union (EBU)
  • Humberto Insolera. European Union of the Deaf (EUD)
  • Nadia Hadad. European Network on Independent Living (ENIL)
  • Klaus Lachwitz. German Disability Council (DBR)
  • Pirkko Mahlamäki. Finnish Disability Forum (FDF)
  • Albert Prévos. French Council of Disabled People for European Affairs (CFHE)